Open defecation: India versus Africa

We are at a conference about  environmental challenges. A group of participants from  all over the world, really.  Each of us is expected to give a presentation about their work.

envi issues
Source: http://www.123f.com

It is the turn of my colleague from India.  They are talking about sanitation. We have a problem with open defecation in India, they tell us. Then they get to the statistics.  Using figures collated from all kinds of global institutions they endeavour to demonstrate to us that this “problem” is really serious, because it is even worse than  in A-F-R-I-C-A! Shock and horror.  Several African countries are paraded on the slide….the only one I can recall was Cameroon. The point is – We are doing really badly! We are the bottom. Africa is doing better than us. WE should be better than Africa! Because, Africa should be at the very bottom of human hierarchy in EVERYTHING.

IMG_2724

I am stunned. I am seated next to my Uganda colleague. I look at him. He shakes his head. I am embarrassed , incensed….The presentation goes on. I do not hear anything the presenter says after that.  They finish the presentation. We all clap! I am asking myself what I am clapping for.

Any questions? the moderator asks. Some hands shoot up. All this time I am saying to myself: Surely, you must say something about this.  You cannot just sit here and say nothing as the whole continent is dragged through raw sewage. 

IMG_2713

I raise my hand. It is my turn. I stand up. I say something nice , and then get to the meat of the matter. Why do you find it necessary to compare India with Africa? Is it not enough to just illustrate that you have a problem without dragging others people into it? I turn to the rest of the colleagues and continue – why do we all think that Africa has to be lowest common denominator for everything? That, if you are doing worse than Africa in anything you are doing really badly? Everybody stares at me. Nobody says a word. Some people smile and chuckle. I am pissed!…(not at the smiles and the chuckles.)

20160227_104034

The presenter cobbles up a response. It does not answer the question.

I now turn to my Ugandan colleague and he tells me: I have heard people making comparisons to Africa on many subjects but NEVER to open defecation. This is a first!

This stinks.

After we get through all the presentations I  continue the conversation with the presenter. He now gives me a more candid answer to the question I had asked him. Without batting an eyelid he tells me “we do that because this kind of messaging works for our people.” If you tell an Indian that Africans are not pooping out in the open, they are likely to get ashamed and reform? How does this work?  They also tells me to not be “too sensitive.” Yes, I am supposed to just sit there and take it because this is normal. This is not normal. It is abusive.  Can’t people learn to resolve their problems without using other people who might have different struggles and  be in very different contexts?

No, we are talking about Africa. Everybody’s punching bag.

IMG_2623

 

All of this  reminds me of a story that a Ghanian friend told me.

He went to church one day. This is in Canada. There were many Africans in the church. The visiting  white pastor  is delivering the sermon. At some point during the sermon the pastor tells them ” I know you are all refugees….”. I ask my friend – did any of you say something to him about that? No, he says. How can you speak in church.? You cannot raise your hand. How about walking out in protest? How about writing a letter saying that while there are refugees in the congregation not all of us are refugees?   At the end nobody said anything- never mind that at least 95% of them were not refugees. The majority are in fact, hardworking international students – most of them graduate students. But nobody says a word?!

IMG_0284

Are Africans  not bothered by these insults,  the vilification,  the humiliation? Or am I being “too sensitive”?

Africans must stand up and say something. Do not just sit there while people who have no understanding of the continent whatsoever poop all over it. Say something. Otherwise, your silence is an endorsement of the humiliation.  Say s-o-m-e-t-h-i-n-g!

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Open defecation: India versus Africa

  1. Being quiet is kind of a coping mechanism, many a time when you say something you are labeled bitter, angry, sensitive. But still a civilized engagement and show of disapproval is a way to go. It should never be business as usual. Well said Gloria.

    Like

      1. Jack, I now think there is nothing wrong with being bitter, angry or sensitive. They are all legitimate emotions and if used properly they can result to good things. Silence is not golden in such instances.

        Like

  2. Whoa!!Unfortunately Africa is a by word for a lot of negative things!Definitely not amused by that comment.
    Thanks for sharing your experiences.

    Like

Leave a Reply

